Brahmand NewsPrevious Article
Brahmand NewsNext Article
Headlines
student competition 2020

Russia launches military satellite

Line Spacing+- AFont Size+- Print This Article

MOSCOW (BNS): The Russian Space Forces has placed in orbit a Cosmos series military satellite.

The satellite, designated Cosmos 2472, was launched by a Soyuz-U rocket from the Plesetsk space centre in north Russia at 08.00 pm Moscow time (16.00 GMT) on Monday.

“The rocket put the Cosmos-series military satellite into the designated orbit at 08.08 pm Moscow time (16.08 GMT),” Russian Space Forces’ spokesman Lt. Col. Alexey Zolotukhin was quoted as saying by Ria Novosti.

Russia has been operating a large number of Cosmos satellites.

The newly-launched spacecraft will enhance the Russian network of about 60-70 military reconnaissance satellites, featuring updated imaging technology and an extended lifetime of up to seven years.

Tags:

Line Spacing+- AFont Size+- Print Article

Other Related News

No compromise on territorial integrity: India to China during 5th round of military talks

The Indian Army has categorically conveyed to China's PLA at the fifth round of military talks it will not compromise on India's territorial integrity, and clearly said disengagement of troops from Pangong Tso and a few other friction points in eastern Ladakh should be completed at the earliest.

Upcoming Defence Exhibitions

BRAHMOS Missile Systems

Headlines

Brahmand World Defence Update 2020

Brahmand World Defence Update

Image Gallery