Brahmand NewsPrevious Article
Brahmand NewsNext Article
Headlines

Orbital's cargo ship makes rendezvous with ISS: NASA

Line Spacing+- AFont Size+- Print This Article

The Cygnus resupply craft is attached to the Canadarm2 while being guided to the Harmony node for installation. Photo: NASA TV.

WASHINGTON (AFP): Orbital Sciences Corporation's unmanned Cygnus cargo ship on Sunday made rendezvous with the International Space Station (ISS) on the company's first regular supply mission to the research outpost.

The event took place at 1638 IST (1108 GMT) just northeast of Madagascar over the Indian Ocean, according to the US space agency NASA's television network.

Once Cygnus approached the orbiting lab, the space station's robotic arm reached out and grabbed the incoming cargo carrier.

US astronaut Mike Hopkins and his Japanese colleague Koichi Wakata operated the space lab's 57-foot Canadian-made mechanical arm, known as the Canadarm.

"Basically capturing something that is free-floating in space right next to you going so fast ... with so much at stake, that is the tricky part," said astronaut Cady Coleman, who narrated the capture from Earth for NASA TV.

The crew is using the robotic arm to guide Cygnus to its berthing port on the Earth-facing side of the Harmony node for installation, slated to begin at around 1750 IST (1220 GMT), according to NASA.

Tags:

NASA  Orbital  ISS  Cygnus  
Line Spacing+- AFont Size+- Print Article

Other Related News

Indian Army establishes living facilities for all troops deployed in eastern Ladakh

As the border standoff with China in eastern Ladakh shows no signs of immediate resolution, the Indian Army has created modern habitats with all required facilities for thousands of troops deployed in the high-altitude region which is under the grip of harsh winter.

Upcoming Defence Exhibitions

BRAHMOS Missile Systems

Headlines

Brahmand World Defence Update 2020

Brahmand World Defence Update

Image Gallery